Trebon, Krasniak win cross opener

Sep 1, 2012 by

VANCOUVER — Ryan Trebon ( and Julie Krasniak (Rapha-Focus) won the Oregon cyclocross opener Saturday during race # 1 of the Grand Prix Tina Brubaker at David Douglas Park in Vancouver.

Ryan Trebon sailed to an easy win Saturday.

The traditional course at David Douglas started with some lengthy grass power sections through the upper fields before riders quickly dropped into the wooded singletrack of the lower bowl. Rapid descents and reciprocally steep climbs peppered the wooded section before riders ascended one last, brutally steep pitch from the shaded forest back into the sunshine and then more grass sections leading to the finish.

Starting at 1 p.m., Trebon rode away from runner-up Carl Decker (Giant Factory Team), who suffered a flat tire and didn’t have a spare bike, and Trek Cyclocross Collective’s Shannon Skerritt, who took a wrong turn at the start of the race. But his competitors’ bad luck made little difference to Trebon, who powered over the dry, sometimes dusty course on his way to an impressive leg-opening win.

Krasniak took a similar route to the Elite women’s win, riding away from series namesake Tina Brubaker (Speedvagen) and Brubaker’s teammate Laura Winberry on the way to her first win of the fledgling ‘cross season. The elite women raced on the course at the same time as the men, starting after the Elite and the Masters A groups. Brubaker went out hard and made it to the woods first, but Krasniak soon took over the lead and was quickly into the back of the Masters A field. The French mountain bike pro navigated the crowd expertly and finished well ahead of her competition.

OBRA cyclocross continues next Sunday, Sept.9, with the infamous sand section of the Het Meer CX race at Vancouver Lake Park. Het Meer is also the second round of the Grand Prix Tina Brubaker series.

Rapha-Focus rider Julie Krasniak dominated the women's race.

Check out the PHOTO GALLERY for this race.

GPTB #1 – David Douglas CX
Sept. 1

Elite Men
1. Ryan Trebon (
2. Carl Decker (Giant Off-Road Factory Team)
3. Shannon Skerritt (Corsa Concepts)

Elite Women
1. Julie Krasniak (Rapha-Focus)
2. Tina Brubaker (Speedvagen)
3. Laura Winberry (Speedvagen)

Related Posts

Share This