Powers wins, Trebon 2nd at CX Natz

Jan 8, 2012 by

2012 USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships

MADISON, Wisc. — Bend’s Ryan Trebon (LTS/Felt) set the pace at the front with a blistering opening couple of laps, but it was Jeremy Powers’ attack with two laps to go that sealed the first-ever USA Cycling Elite Cyclocross National Championship for the Rapha-Focus rider.

Two-time national champion Trebon had to settle for second after chasing Powers for the last two laps, coming up six seconds short at the finish. Jonathan Page (Planet Bike) crossed the line for the bronze medal after riding with the front group all day. Zach McDonald (Rapha-Focus), who won the U23 race on Saturday, overcame a holeshot crash to work his way back to the front and eventually finished fourth. Tim Johnson (Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld), who put in several attacks at the front throughout the race, took the last step of the podium with fifth.

2012 USA Cycling Cyclocross Nationals
Sunday, Jan. 8

Elite Men
1. Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus)
*2. Ryan Trebon (LTS/Felt)
3. Jonathan Page (Planet Bike)
4. Zach McDonald (Rapha-Focus)
5. Tim Johnson (Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld)
*15. Barry Wicks (Kona)
*16. Sean Babcock (Kona)
*19. Erik Tonkin (Kona)
*35. Damian Schmitt (Silverado Gallery/Sunnyside)
*64. Matt Fox (Silverado Gallery/Sunnyside)

Complete USA Cycling results are HERE.