Whitten, Antogna win Cascade opener

Jul 20, 2011 by

The two-mile prologue opener takes place in the center of Bend's Old Mill District. ┬ęPat Malach/FILE PHOTO

BEND — On a podium stacked with world champions and Olympic gold medalists, track cyclist Tara Whitten (Tibco-To the Top) nipped fellow Canadian Clara Hughes (Cycling BC) and U.S. rider Kristin Armstrong (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) to take the first race leader’s jersey at the 2011 Cascade Cycling Classic.

Whitten, a 31-year-old who won gold at the 2010 UCI Track World Championships in the Omnium and Points Race, covered the two mile out-and-back course through Bend’s Old Mill District in 3:52.811, three seconds faster than Hughes, who in turn beat Armstrong for the runner-up spot by two-tenths of a second.

Hughes, 38, and Armstrong, 37, have their own collection of Olympic and world championship hardware. Hughes is a Canadian sports icon who has won six Olympic medals in both cycling and speedskating. Armstrong is two-time world champion and Olympic gold medalist in the time trial. When the pair faced off recently at Mt. Hood, they battled neck and neck, with Armstrong taking the prologue win, another stage and the overall, but Hughes grabbing the coveted time trial prize. The pair now sit virtually tied on GC and could be staging a repeat of their Mt. Hood battle, although Cascade’s women’s field is much deeper than the one they faced at Mt. Hood.

Oregon’s Jade Wilcoxson (Now & Novartis for MS) finished seven seconds down for fifth, just one second behind Pascale Schneider (Vaderkitten/Focus), who finished six seconds behind the leader for fourth.

Antogna beats Van Uden by two-tenths of a second

The men’s race turned into a matter of milliseconds, with just five seconds separating the top 10 riders. But it was Jamis Sutter Home rider Fernando Antogna’s blistering time of 3:35.624 that rose above the rest, although by just two-tenths of a second over runner-up Roman van Uden (Pure Black Racing). The PBR New Zealander, who previously rode with Portland-based Land Rover/Orbea team, was followed onto the podium by teammate Tim Gudsell, who finished two seconds down for third. Bissell Pro Cycling’s Frank Pipp grabbed fourth, three seconds in arrears, while Jamis Sutter Home’s Tom Zirbel grabbed the fifth spot, also three seconds down.

RealCyclist.com’s Francisco Mancebo, the National Race Calendar points leader coming into Cascade, fired a warning shot with a sixth-place finish, just four seconds off the lead pace. Part-time Portlander and Cross Crusade regular Joshua Berry, Mancebo’s teammate, finished 7th and wears the Best Young Rider jersey. Jamis Sutter Home placed three riders in the top 10, with Luis Romero Amaran grabbing the 10th spot at five seconds down. Portland’s Jacob Rathe (Chipotle Development Team) finished six seconds down for 13th.

Wednesday’s stage 2 McKenzie Pass Road Race will test the riders with 73 miles and two significant climbs, the first of which sends them over the namesake pass, which just recently opened to traffic after the winter snowpack finally melted off.

Cascade Cycling Classic
Prologue Time Trial
July 19

1. Fernando Antogna (Jamis/Sutter Home) 3:35.624
2. Roman Van Uden (Pure Black Racing) 3:35.980 @:00
3. Tim Gudsell (Pure Black Racing) @:02
4. Frank Pipp (Bissell Pro Cycling Team) @:03
5. Tom Zirbel (Jamis/Sutter Home) @:03
Oregon Men
*7. Josh Berry (Realcyclist.com) @:04 *Top placed Oregon
13. Jacob Rathe (Chipotle Development Team) @:06
68. Andrew Boone (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @:14
96. Ian Boswell (Trek-Livestrong) @:16
103. Kennett Peterson (Hagens Berman) @:16
105. Stephen Mull (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @:17
109. Ryan Trebon (LTS/Felt) @:17
135. Scott Gray (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @:21
166. Eli Romer (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @:25

1. Tara Whitten (Tibco-To The Top) 3:52.811
2. Clara Hughes (Cycling BC) 3:55.710 @:03
3. Kristin Armstrong (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) 3:55.735 @:03
4. Pascale Schneider (Vaderkitten/Focus) 3:58.387 @:06
*5. Jade Wilcoxson (Now & Novartis for MS) 3:59.071 @:07 *Top placed Oregon rider
Oregon Women
30. Sue Butler (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @:19
40. Brenna Lopez-Otero (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @:22
43. Ashley Koch (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @:23
46. Kelly Benjamin (Colavita Forno d’Asolo) @:24
50. Hilary Billington (Now & Novartis for MS) @:26
62. Elizabeth Newell (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @:30
64. Amy Campbell (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @:31
84. Anne Usher (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @:35
99. Lindsay Fox (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @:42
103. Anona Whitely (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @:45

Related Posts

Share This