Weekend offers Super D, season’s first crit & a college visit

Mar 17, 2011 by

Mountain bikers can get some competition close to Mt. Hood this weekend at race #1 of the Sandy Ridge Spring Brake Super D Series. ©Pat Malach

This weekend will bring OBRA’s first criterium of the season as well as more mountain biking action with the first race of the Sandy Ridge Spring Brake Super D Sunday near Mt. Hood. Student racers from the Northwest Collegiate Cycling  Conference will invade Oregon for the Willamette U. Criterium & Team Time Trial on Saturday and the Portland State University Road Race at Hagg Lake on Sunday.

SATURDAY, March 19

  • Willamette University Collegiate Criterium & Team Time Trial: The day of racing starts at 8:30 a.m. on the .07-mile four-corner criterium course that circles the Oregon State Capitol Building in Salem and runs adjacent to the Willamette campus. Seven collegiate categories race throughout the day, culminating with the men’s and women’s A events, beginning at at 11:45 and 12:40, respectively.
  • The collegiate racing continues in the afternoon with the Willamette U. Team Time Trial on a 13-mile course about 20 minutes south of Salem. The first team hits the course at 4 p.m.
  • Capitol Cup Criterium: The afternoon is reserved for OBRA races on the same course around the Capitol that the collegiate riders contested in the morning. Juniors start the afternoon off at 2 sharp for a 20-minute test. The Cat 4/5 men race next, followed by Cat 4 women and Cat 3 women. The Cat 1/2 women are schedule for 45 minutes of racing with the Cat 3 men at 4:30, and the Cat 1/2 men race for 60 minutes beginning at 5:25.

SUNDAY, March 20

  • Spring Brake Super D: To support the continued development of the Sandy Ridge Trail System, the BLM is partnering with Portland-based bike industry leaders to hold the 1st annual Sandy Ridge Spring Brake Super D Series, which will consist of three individual races on March 20, March 27 and April 3.  To mix things up and keep riders guessing, each race within the series will feature a brand new course. The three-race series will crown an over all champion in each category based upon a points system 12 riders deep.

Related Posts


Share This