Rathe 3rd at Paris Roubaix Espoirs

May 29, 2011 by

Jacob Rathe posted the best finish of USA Cycling's riders, placing third at Paris-Roubaix Espoirs Sunday. (Photo by Mario Varrewaere/Courtesy of USA Cycling)

ROUBAIX, France — Portland’s Jacob Rathe finished third Sunday at the Paris Roubaix Espoirs race in France, posting the best finish of USA Cycling’s development riders in the U23 event.

The race spanned 180.8 kilometers (108.5 miles) and included 24 cobblestone sections. Rathe (Chipotle Development Team) was part of a breakaway group of 13 riders that gradually narrowed to five riders due to crashes, flat tires or competitors dropping back.

Each time a rider attacked, Rathe responded until Ramon Sinkeldam (Rabobank/The Netherlands) finally pulled away to win the race in 4:24:33. Rathe and eventual runner-up Jasper Stuyven entered the famous velodrome in Roubaix together, with the Belgium rider opening up a three second advantage by the time they looped around for the finish. Fourth-place rider Arnaud Demare of France finished five seconds later.

In all, five of USA Cycling’s development riders finished the race. Rob Squire (Sandy, Utah/Chipotle Development) placed 14th, Max Durtschi (Boulder, Colo./Chipotle Development) finished 55th, Anders Newbury was 67th and Lawson Craddock (Houston, Texas/Trek-Livestrong) was 77th. Taylor Phinney, who rides for the BMC World Tour team this season, won the race each of the previous two years.

Rathe came up through the OBRA ranks before gaining national attention with Hammer/CMG and the Junior National Team. He finished second at the OBRA Piece of Cake Road Race this year before leaving Oregon to continue his national and international racing, where he won a stage of the Rutas de Americas in Uruguay and took third in the Pan American Games time trial in Columbia.

Paris Roubaix Espoirs
May 29, 2011

1. Ramon Sinkeldam (Rabobank Continental Team) – 4:24:33
2. Jasper Stuyven (Ovyta-Eijssen Acrog) – +0’09″
3. Jacob Rathe (Team Chipotle) – 0’12″
4. Arnaud Demare (CC Nogent-sur-Oise) – 0’17″
5. Andrew Fenn (An Post-Sean Kelly) – 0’19″
6. Louis Verhelst – 1’19″
7. Jetse Bol (Rabobank Continental Team) – 1’20″
8. Sébastien Bergeret – 2’19″
9. Eugert Zhupa
10. Tim Declercq (Soenens-Construkt Glas)

Complete results HERE.

(USA Cycling contributed to this report)

Related Posts

Share This