PDX riders picked for Pan Am games

Apr 8, 2011 by

Jacob Rathe Will represent the United States at the Pan Am games next month. File photo / ©Pat Malach

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — USA Cycling Friday named Portland residents Dean Tracy and Jacob Rathe to the U.S. National track and road teams that will be competing at the 2011 Pan Am games next month in Colombia. Former Eugene resident and Alpenrose Velodrome regular Kevin Mansker is also on the squad.

The competition will open with road time trials and road races on May 5 and May 8. Rathe (Chipotle Development Team) earned an automatic nomination to the squad by virtue of his 93rd-place ranking in the UCI Americas Tour Rankings. He’ll be joined in the race against the clock, as well as on the road race course, by discretionary pick and time trial specialist Lawson Craddock (Trek-Livestrong).

The track contests will take place May 11-15, following the two days of road competition. Tracy, who rides for Portland-based Project London 2012, is an automatic nominee who will lead the men’s team with Jimmy Watkins of Bakersfield, Calif. Tracy and Watkins will team up with discretionary teammate Michael Blatchford (Project 2012) in the team sprint. Watkins will also compete in both the sprint and the keirin along with discretionary team member Mansker, who now lives in Long Beach, Calif.  Tracy, Mansker, Blatchford and Watkins are all part of Portland-based Project London 2012, Rubicon Cycling’s latest venture that aspires to help the cyclists reach the next Summer Olympics.

Other discretionary picks to represent the red, white and blue on the track in Colombia are Kit Karzen (Beverly Hills, Calif./South Bay Wheelmen), who will contest the omnium, and T.J. Mathieson (Redondo Beach, Calif./Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic) who will test his skills in the kilometer time trial.

Dean Tracy will take another big step toward the 2012 Olympics. ©Brian Hodes / VeloImages

In the women’s road time trial, Amber Neben (Lake Forest, Calif./Veloce Velo) and Evelyn Stevens (Dennis, Mass./HTC-Highroad) will both race the clock as discretionary selections. Following the time trial, Stevens and Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo./Diadora-Pasta Zara) received automatic nominations to compete in the road race by means of their 22nd- and 18th-place spots in the most recent UCI Individual Rankings. The pair will be joined on the road course by discretionary picks Neben and Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Cedar Springs, Mich./Colavita-Forno D’Asolo).

The women’s team at the velodrome will be comprised of four discretionary nominees. Christin Walker (Houston, Texas) and Tela Crane (Seattle, Wash./Lake Washington Velo) will join forces for the team sprint before both competing in the keirin. Walker will also contest the sprint and the 500-meter time trial, along with Dana Feiss (Telford, Pa./CPT-Home Depot Center Team). Cari Higgins (Boulder, Colo./Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY 12) will represent the U.S. in the omnium.

Check back to www.usacycling.org during the month of May to find out how the U.S. team fares in Colombia.

UCI Pan American Road and Track Championships
Bogota, Colombia
May 5-15

Men’s Road
*Jacob Rathe (Portland, Ore./Garmin) – Road Race, Time Trial
Lawson Craddock (Houston, Texas/Trek-Livestrong) – Road Race, Time Trial

Women’s Road
Amber Neben (Lake Forest, Calif./Veloce Velo) – time trial, road race
Evelyn Stevens (Dennis, Mass./HTC-Highroad) – time trial, road race
Mara Abbott (Boulder, Colo./Diadora-Pasta Zara) – road race
Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Cedar Springs, Mich./Colavita-Forno D’Asolo) – road race

Men’s Track
*Dean Tracy (Portland, Ore./Project London 2012) – team sprint
Jimmy Watkins (Bakersfield, Calif./Project London 2012) – team sprint, sprint, keirin
Michael Blatchford (Cypress, Calif./Project London 2012) – team sprint
Kevin Mansker (Long Beach, Calif./Project London 2012) – sprint, keirin
Kit Karzen (Beverly Hills, Calif./South Bay Wheelmen) – omnium
T.J. Mathieson (Redondo Beach, Calif./Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic) – kilo

Women’s Track
Christin Walker (Houston, Texas) – team sprint, sprint, keirin, 500-meter time trial
Tela Crane (Seattle, Wash./Lake Washington Velo) – team sprint, keirin
Dana Feiss (Telford, Pa./CPT-Home Depot Center Team) – sprint, 500-meter time trial
Cari Higgins (Boulder, Colo./Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY 12) – omnium