Oregonians excel at MTB Marathon Natz

Sep 17, 2011 by

BEND — Local boy Adam Craig (Rabobank/Giant) won the Elite/Pro men’s stars-and-stripes jersey at the 2011 USA Cycling MTB Marathon National Championships Saturday on a 50+ mile cross country course in and around Bend.

Craig led a contingent of five Bend riders who brought home gold Saturday: Carson Miller (Jelly Belly Pro Cycling Team) took top honors in the men’s 19-29 category, Ben Thompson won the 35-39 group, Scott Seaton won the 50-59 race, and Bend’s Alice Drobna took the women’s singlespeed title.

Craig took a two-up sprint at the finish from fellow Bend pro Carl Decker (Giant Factory Team) after the pair piled up a 10-minute advantage on the course that started and finished in Bend’s Old Mill District after climbing toward and then descending from Mt. Bachelor. Subarau-Trek teammates Sam Schultz of Missoula, Mont., and Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski of Boulder, colo., came in next for third and fourth.

Team Sho-Air’s Pau Mata won the Elite women’s race ahead of Kelli Emmett (Giant Bicycles) and heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek).

USAC Mountain Bike Marathon
National Championships
Sept. 17

Elite Men
1. Adam Craig (Rabobank/Giant) 3:10:16
2. Carl Decker (Giant Factory Team) 3:10:28
3. Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek) 3:20:50
4. Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek) 3:20:54
5. Colin Cares (Kenda-Felt) 3:21:18
11. Barry Wicks (Kona) 3:26:03
14. Sean Babcock (Kona) 3:27:00
16. Brig Brandt 3:28:54
22. James Williams 3:33:33
24. Sloane Anderson 3:33:38
31 Scott Carlile (Webcyclery) 3:45:17
37. Kendal Johnson 3:56:10
40. Matthew Wittler 4:18:30

Elite Women
1. Pau Mata (Team Sho-Air) 3:38:58
2. Kelli Emmett (Giant Bicycles) 3:43:28
3. Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek) 3:48:57
4. Amanda Carey 3:59:41
5. Jana Repulski 4:07:59
7. Anna Shipley 4:34:05


Men Singlespeed
2. Evan Plews (Salem)
3. Cody Peterson (Bend)
8. Brian Gerow (Portland)

Men 19-29
1. Carson Miller (Bend) Jelly Belly Pro Cycling Team

Men 30-34
5. Shawn Rader (Hillsboro)
7. Damian Schmitt (Bend)
11. Christopher Bagg (Portland)

Men 35-39
1. Ben Thompson (Bend)
5. Dan Ourada (Sunriver)
11. Doug Laplaca (Bend)
14. Christian Martin (Portland)

Men 40-49
5. Bruce Rogers (Bend)
7. John Weathers (Tigard)
10. Gregg Strome (Bend)
14. Paul Thomasberg (Bend)
22. Trevor Norland (Corvallis)
26. Jeffery Otto (Beaverton)
27. Chris Kovash (Ashland)
29. Richard Albrow (Bend)
31. David Sjogren (Bend)
32. Andrew Steiner (Bend)
33. Tim Turk (Ashland)
35. Brian Evans (Bend)
36. Alan Brandt (Bend)
37. Sean Rogers (Bend)
38. Robert Lee (Portland)
40. Stephen Helt (Bend)
43. Michael Fisher (Bend)
44. Dave Cauble (Bend)
45. Nick Misischia (Bend)

Men 50-59
1. Scott Seaton (Bend)
20. Jeff Spangler (Bend)
21. Matt Falkenstein (Bend)

Men 60-69
2. Don Leet (Bend)

Women Singlespeed
1. Alice Drobna (Bend)

Women 30-39
3. Sarah Max (Bend)
8. Michelle Mills (Bend)
10. Lizzy Thompson (Redmond)

Women 40-49
5. Cherie Touchette (Bend)
6. Karen Oppenheimer (Bend)
8. Lisa Belair (Portland)

Full results are HERE.