Oregon Cup continues at Kings Valley

Apr 6, 2011 by

Jade Wilcoxson won last year's Kings Valley Road Race by outsprinting Teri Sheasby up the finishing climb. ©Pat Malach

KINGS VALLEY — Saturday’s 14th Annual Kings Valley Road Race on the traditional 20-mile course northwest of Corvallis will also decide the third leg of the 2011 Oregon Cup, currently led by Jake Hansen (Word-RCB) and Jen Akeroyd (Sorella Forte).

The tiny community of Kings Valley has hosted this Oregon spring classic for the past 14 years. ©Pat Malach

The course at Kings Valley offers plenty of rollers, some flat land and one significant climb that also serves as the finish on the last lap. Recent Cherry Blossom Cycling Classic overall winner Jade Wilcoxson (Landshark/Flywheel) won the 2010 race for the Cat 1/2/3 women by outsprinting Veloforma’s Teri Sheasby. UCI Continental pros have won the past two editions of the men’s Pro/1/2 event, with Josh Bartlet (Rubicon-Orbea) taking the win at the 2009 race, and Jelly Belly neo pro Jacob Rathe getting the win last year in a two-up sprint with 2010 Canadian National Cyclocross Champ Chris Sheppard.

In the Oregon Cup competition, Hansen has a sizable 115-point lead over second-placed Brendan Gallant. Hansen built his advantage with wins at the first two Oregon Cup races, Banana Belt #2 at Hagg Lake and the difficult wind-blown Piece of Cake Road Race. Jen Akeroyd leads the Senior Women’s competition by 175points over Sue Butler (River City Bicycles). Akeroyd also won Banana Belt #2 but finished second to Sue Butler at Piece of Cake.

A jubilant Josh Bartlett celebrates his 2009 win with the traditional robe, crown and purse of gold coins. ©Pat Malach

Kings Valley Road Race Schedule:
10:00 — Pro-I-II, 75 Miles
10:05 — Cat III, 56 Miles
10:10 — Masters 40+/50+ (Cat III max), 56 Miles
10:15 — Cat IV-V, 56 Miles
10:20 — Women Cat I-II-III*, 56 Miles
10:25 — Cat IV Women, 37 Miles
* Cat III women scored separately but prized with the I-IIs


Senior Men
1. Jake Hansen (Word-RCB) 200 points
2. Brendan Gallant (Guinness Cycling Team) 85
3. Jacob Rathe (Chipotle Development Team) 75
4. Taylor Kneuven (Geox Fuji Test Team) 75
5. Zach Winter (Guinness Cycling Team) 75

Senior Women
1. Jen Akeroyd (Sorella Forte) 175 points
2. Sue Butler (River City Bicycles) 100
3. Sara Fletcher (Therapeutic Associates/Sagebrush Cycles) 90
4. Anne Davis Usher (Upper Echelon Fitness) 85
5. Leia Tyrrell (Sorella Forte) 75

Related Posts

Share This