Oregon masters fare well at TT Nats

Aug 31, 2011 by

The USAC Masters Road National Championships run through Sunday in Bend.

BEND — Oregon racers brought home the gold in two individual and four tandem categories Wednesday at the USA Cycling Masters Road National Championships in Bend.

David Zimbelman of The Dalles won the Men’s 55-59 category with a time of 34:53 over the 25 kilometer course. Zimbelman’s time was the second fastest set by an Oregonian. Michael Larson of Bend set the fastest Oregon time at 34:32 on his way to fourth place in the 40-44 category.

Dagmar Eriksson (Bend) also won gold in the Women’s 65-69 race, covering the 18 kilometer course in 39:48.

Talen’ts John Slawta and Jennifer Slawta won the Mixed Tandem 90-99 gold medal with a time of 45:23. Timothy Jones and TJ Paskewich of Bend took gold in the Tandem Men 70-79 event. Jan Moss of Milwaukie and Sarah Tisdale of Hillsboro won gold in the Tandem Women Elite race with a time of 50:24. Melissa Boyd of Corvallis and Michelle Thorstrom of Bend took the top prize in the Tandem Women 90-99 contest.

The Masters Road National Championships continue with criteriums Thursday and Friday. Thursday’s races are at the Northwest Crossings course that was used recently for the the OBRA championships. Friday’s criteriums take place on the same downtown course that is used for the Cascade Cycling Classic. The road race championships will be decided Saturday and Sunday on a modified version of the Awbrey Butte circuit used for the Cascade Cycling Classic.

USAC Masters Road National Championships
Individual Time Trial
Aug. 31


Masters Men 30-34 (25km)
4th — Cody Pederson (Bend) 36:00
5th — Galen Mitterman (Portland) 36:33
6th — Scott Gray (Bend) 36:34
7th — Andrew Boone (Bend) 36:45
8th — Carl Hoefer (Portland) 37:04

Masters Men 35-39 (25Km)
4th — Ben Thompson (Bend) 35:16
14th — Adam Kennedy (Corvallis) 37:58

Masters Men 40-44 (25km)
4th — Michael Larson (Bend) 34:32
9th — Paul Bourcier (Eugene) 35:38
25th — Daniel Quirk (Portland) 38:18

Masters Women 40-44 (25km)
5th — Sarah Tisdale (Hillsboro) 41:22
9th — Sarah Havlik (Scappoose) 45:56

Masters Men 45-49 (25km)
20th — Todd Rosier (Hillsboro) 37:35
21st — Eric Martin (Bend) 37:38
37th — Stanley Gardner (Beaverton) 50:36

Masters Women – 45-49 (25km)
2nd — Tawnie McDonald (Bend) 41:01
10th — Jennifer Slawta (Talent) 42:53
12th — Pamela Stevenson (Bend) 45:24

Masters Men 50-54 (25km)
17th — David Skinkle (Bend) 38:50
24th — Ambrose Su (Bend) 40:29
25th — Thane Jennings (Hermiston) 40:50

Master Women 50-54 (25km)
10th — Mary Ross (Portland) 45:08

Masters Men 55-59 (25km)
1st — David Zimbelman (The Dalles) 34:53
20th — Ray Anderson (Portland) 40:20
23rd — J. Michael Manning (Portland) 41:02
29th — Bill Croswell (Tualatin) 49:58

Masters Women 55-59 (18km)
14th — Jill Josselyn (Portland) 34:06

Masters Men – 65-69 (18km)
12th — James Noonan (Vancouver, WA) 32:17
17th — Jerry Powell (Portland) 38:49

Masters Women 65-69 (18km)
1st — Dagmar Eriksson (Bend) 39:48

Master – 70-74 (18km)
5th — Roger Johnson (West Linn) 31:56

Masters Men – 75-79 (18km)
2nd — Richard Hunt (Bend) 34:03

Complete USAC results are HERE.