Mancebo, Hughes take Cascade lead

Jul 21, 2011 by

The 14-mile out-and-back stage 2 Skyliners time trial starts at Summit High School. ©Pat Malach/FILE PHOTO

BEND –Francisco Mancebo ( proved he is the man to beat at this year’s Cascade Cycling Classic during today’s Skyliners time trial, setting the fastest time for the men and taking the yellow jersey from teammate Cesar Grajales.

Jeremy Vennell finished fifth on this stage last year but moved up to third this year and climbed to third overall as well. ©Pat Malach/FILE PHOTO

The 14-mile stage 2 Skyliners time trial sends riders out of Bend’s Summit High School and up a gradual seven-mile, 977-foot incline before they turnaround and head back for the super fast, slightly downhill all-out sprint to the finish.

Mancebo covered the out-and-back course in 29:05, 21 seconds faster than runner-up Tom Zirbel (Jamis Sutter Home) and 34 seconds faster than third-placed rider Jeremy Vennell (Bissell Por Cycling Team).

The last time Mancebo and Zirbel faced each other in this time trial on a slightly longer Skyliners course in 2009, Zirbel, riding for Bissell Pro Cycling that season, took the stage win with a time of 32:50.30. Mancebo, riding for Rock Racing, clocked in at 34:11.38 for 11th place.

But the former Spanish national road champion got the advantage this time,moving himself into the overall lead by 49 seconds over Grajales, who finished seventh on the day, 54 seconds back. Vennell’s romp moved the Bissell rioder into third overall, just one second behind Grajales.

Ian Boswell remains the top Oregon rider after finishing 24th on the stage, 1:37 off the lead pace. Boswell is now 1:57 behind Mancebo for 13th place overall.

Canadian Clara Hughes repeated her Mt. Hood time trial win, pictured here, with a win Thursday in Bend. ©Pat Malach/FILE PHOTO

In the women’s race, Clara Hughes (Cycling BC) beat Kristin Armstrong (Peanut Butter & Co Twenty-12) in a time trial for the second time this year as the two highly decorated cyclists continue their flight path toward the 2012 Olympics. Hughes’ ride also moved her into the yellow jersey by 13 seconds over Tibco’s Erinne Willock, who was third on the stage.

Hughes covered the 14-mile course in 32:44, just 20 seconds faster than Armstrong. Willock, who started the day 10 seconds ahead of both Hughes and Armstrong, finished third and hung onto second overall, 13 seconds down. Armstrong is third overall by the margin of today’s time trial. Wednesday’s stage 1 winner Kristin McGrath (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12), is now fourth after finishing 10th today. Jade Wilcoxson (Now and Novartis for MS) is the top Oregon woman, sitting ninth overall, 4:15 behind Hughes after finishing 13th on the stage.

The Cascade Cycling Classic continues Friday with the Cascade Lakes Road Race that finishes on Mt. Bachelor.

Cascade Cycling Classic
Stage 2 Skyliners Time Trial
July 21

Pro Men
1. Francisco Mancebo ( 29:05.713
2. Tom Zirbel (Jamis Sutter Home) @:21
3. Jeremy Vennell (Bissell Pro Cycling Team) @:34
4. Glenn Chadwick (Pure Black Racing) @:48
5. Carter Jones (Trek-Livestrong) @:49

1. Francisco Mancebo ( 3:18:39
2. Cesar Grajales ( @:49
3. Jeremy Vennell (Bissell Pro Cycling Team) @:50
4. Tom Zirbel (Jamis Sutter Home) @:54
5. Lachlan Morton (Chipotle Development Team) @1:18

Pro Women
1. Clara Hughes (Cycling BC) 32:44.626
2. Kristin Armstrong (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) @:20
3. Erinne Willock (Tibco-To the Top) @:23
4. Carmen (Tibco-To the Top) @:46
5. Tara Whitten (Tibco-To the Top) @:52

1. Clara Hughes (Cyclign BC) 4:01:56
2. Erinne Willock (Tibco-To the Top) @:13
3. Kristin Armstrong (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) @:20
4. Kristin McGrath (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) @:43
5. Janel Holcomb (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo) @1:14

Oregon Men Stage 2 Time Trial
*24. Ian Boswell (Trek-Livestrong) @1:37 *Top Oregon rider
63. Jacob Rathe (Chipotle Development Team) @2:33
68. Ryan Trebon (LTS/Felt) @2:42
74. Josh Berry ( @2:46
109. Stephen Mull (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @3:32
112. Scott Gray (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @3:39
117. Andrew Boone (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @3:45
119. Kennett Peterson (Hagens Berman) @3:46
132. Carson Miller (jelly Belly) @4:02
151. Eli Romer (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @4:31

Oregon Women Stage 2 Time Trial
*13. Jade Wilcoxson (Now and Novartis for MS) @1:57
21. Elizabeth Newell (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @2:45
41. Ashley Koch (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @3:58
45. Sue Butler (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @4:01
52. Hilary Billington (Now & Novartis for MS) @4:22
64. Brenna Lopez-Otero (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @5:16
82. Lindsay Fox (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @6:31
85. Anne Usher (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @6:46
88. Anona Whitely (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @7:36
92. Sarah Maguire (Team Kenda/Geargrinder) @9:49 TIME CUT
DNS Amy Campbell (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care)

Related Posts

Share This