Hansen, Akeroyd take Oregon Cup

Aug 1, 2011 by

Jake Hansen built an early lead and held on for the win in the 2011 Oregon Cup series. ┬ęPat Malach/FILE PHOTO

PORTLAND — Despite missing the final race of the 2011 Oregon Cup series Sunday at the Vancouver Courthouse Criterium, Sorella Forte’s Jen Akeroyd and Word-RCB’s Jake Hansen clung to leads built early in the season and took the overall wins.

Hansen finished the series with 260 points after winning at the Banana Belt and the Piece of Cake Road Race. He fended off a late-season rally by Andrew Boone, who grabbed second overall with 225 points. Brendon Gallant used the last race of the series to move into third overall.

Akeroyd also built a nearly insurmountable early season lead with a string of victories, eventually compiling 400 points before calling an end to her race season. Mindy Simmons (Guinness Cycling Team) finished second overall with 225 points. Lindsay Fox (athletes Lo9unge) used pints from the Vancouver Courthouse Criterium to climb into third at 195.

Oregon Cup Final Standings

Senior Women

1. Jen Akeroyd (Sorella Forte) 400.0
2. Mindy Simmons (Guinness Cycling Team) 225.0
3. Lindsay Fox (Athletes Lounge) 195.0
4. Sara Fletcher (Therapeutic Associates Cycling/Sagebrush Cycles) 190.0
5. Anne Davis Usher (Upper Echelon Fitness) 180.0

Senior Men
1. Jake Hansen (Word-RCB) 260.0
2. Andrew Boone (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) 225.0
3. Brendon Gallant (HPChiro/Alpine Mortgage Planning) 161.0
4. Steven Beardsley (Gentle Lovers) 157.0
5. John Leonard (Rapha Racing NW) 145.0

Complete Oregon Cup results are HERE.

Related Posts

Share This