Grajales, McGrath win Cascade stage 1

Jul 20, 2011 by

The men's field rolls toward Sisters after descending off Mckenzie Pass Wednesday. ©Jim Williams Photography.

BEND — grabbed the men’s race of the 2011 Cascade Cycling Classic by the throat Wednesday during the stage 1 Mckenzie Pass Road Race, taking the top two spots on the stage and moving into first and second overall.

Colombian Cesar Grajales took the stage win, attacking a select lead group in the closing kilometers to get the win in front of teammate and pre-race favorite Francisco Mancebo. Chipotle Development Team’s Alex Howes, the most active rider in the race, claimed the third spot. Bend’s Ian Boswell (Trek-Livestrong) finished fourth.

A large crash about 30 km into the race sent at least one rider to the hospital before the field reached the first climb of the day, ascending to the lava fields atop McKenzie Pass. Howes tested his legs off the front early with Tim Johnson (TJ’s Summer Job/CX Cannondale), but the move was short lived. A group of approximately 15 riders, including Howes and Grajales, had a small margin by the top pf McKenzie Pass, but that lead group was soon whittled down to six as the race descended toward Sisters with about 20 miles to go.

The breakaway grew to eight with about 10 miles to go, but and Bissell chased hard to swallow up most of the leaders five kilometers from the finish at Three Creeks Snow Park. A flurry of attacks from Trek-Livestrong and Mancebo whittled the lead group down to about a dozen again, when Grajales sprinted away from the bunch with about 500 meters to go, gaining 20 seconds by the line. Mancebo followed his teammate, then came Howes, Boswell and Kenda/Gear Grinder’s Phil Gaimon.

Time bonuses of 10, six and four seconds went to the top three stage finishers. Grajales now has a five second lead over Mancebo in the overall battle, and 12 seconds over Howes in third. Chipotle Development Team’s Lachlan Morton sits fourth overall, 18 seconds back. Jeremy Vennell is fifth at 21 seconds. Boswell is the top Oregon rider at seventh overall, 25 seconds down.

Kristin McGrath, pictured here at Mt. Hood earlier this year, won Cascade's stage 1 and will wear yellow Thursday. ©Pat Malach/FILE PHOTO


In the women’s race, Peanut Butter & Co Twenty-12′s Kristin McGrath claimed stage 1 and the leader’s jersey by jumping away from three breakaway compnaions in the final meters to take the win in front of Colavita/Forno d’Asolo’s Andrea Dvorak, Kathryn Donovan (SC Velo-Empower Coaching) and Kristin Lasasso (Primal/Map My Ride).

Dvorak was easily the most active rider in the race, breaking away solo with about 40 miles to go and grabbing a handful of seconds over several small chase groups. Ten riders — including McGrath, Donovan, LaSasso, Anne Samplonius (Now-Novartis for MS), Jade Wilcoxson (Now-Novartis for MS), Alison Starnes (Peanut Butter & Co Twenty12), Alisha Welsch (Peanut Butter & Co Twenty12) and Tibco-To the Top’s Joelle Numainville and Carmen Small — joined Dvorak with about 33 miles to go and quickly built an advantage of three and half minutes. More attacks from the multiple Peanut Butter & Co. riders in the group began spreading things out, but all 11 leaders were back together with about 23 miles to go. An eight-rider chase started gaining time on the 11 leaders they passed through Sisters and headed toward the finishing climb up Three Creeks, where Dvorak jumped again at the base of the climb and got another small gap.

But it just wasn’t to be on this day for the Colavita rider. In the chase behind, McGrath jumped again, bringing Donavan and Lasasso with her. The group collected Dvorak, who hung with McGrath to the line, where Peanut Butter & Co. rider got the win in the same time as Dvorak. Donovan and Lasasso finished two seconds later for third and fourth. Erinne Willock (Tibco-To the Top) crossed the line 13 second behind the leaders for fifth.

Clara Hughes (Cycling BC) and Kristin Armstrong (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) led the second chase group across the line 33 seconds later to get sixth and seventh, respectively. Wilcoxson brought next group across the line for 10th place, 44 seconds behind the winner.

McGrath now holds a 17-second lead over Dvorak. Willock is third, 22 seconds down, while Lasasso climbed to fourth, just 23 seconds behind McGrath. Hughes and Armstrong sit fifth and sixth, respectively, both 32 seconds off the lead. Wilcoxson is the best placed Oregon rider in 10th.

Racing continues Thursday with the 14-mile Skyliners Time Trial.

Cascade Cycling Classic
Stage 1, McKenzie Pass Road Race
July 20

Pro Men
1. Cesar Grajales ( 2:45:56
2. Francisco Mancebo ( @:05
3. Alex Howes (Chipotle Development Team) @:05
*4. Ian Boswell (Trek-Livestrong) @:07 *Top Oregon rider
5. Phil Gaimon (Kenda Gear Grinder/5 Hour Energy) @:07

1. Cesar Grajales ( 2:49:29
2. Francisco mancebo ( @:05
3. Alex Howes (Chipotle Development Team) @:12
4. Lachlan Morton (Chipotle Development Team) @:18
5. Jeremy Vennell (Bissell Pro Cycling Team) @:21

Pro Women
1. Kristin McGrath (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) 3:24:44
2. Andrea Dvorak (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo) s.t.
3. Kathryn Donovan (SC Velo-Empower Coaching) @:02
4. Kristin T. Lasasso (Primal/Map My Ride) @:02
5. Erinne Willock (Tibco-To the Top) @:13

1. Kristin McGrath (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) 3:28:40
2. Andrea Dvorak (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo) @:17
3. Erinne Willock (Tibco-To the Top) @:22
4. Kristin T. Lasasso (Primal/Map My Ride) @:23
5. Clara Hughes (Cycling BC) @:32
6. Kristin Armstrong (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) @:32

— — — — — — — — — — — —

Oregon Men Stage 1 Road Race
33. Scott Gray (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @1:22
34. Carson Miller (jelly Belly) @1:22
41. Josh Berry ( @1:49
42. Ryan Trebon (LTS/Felt) @1:49
56. Jacob Rathe (Chipotle Development Team) @1:49
113. Andrew Boone (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @9:14
126. Stephen Mull (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @12:49
129. Kennett Peterson (Hagens Berman) @14:20
154. Eli Romer (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @16:15
DNF Brad Winn (Team S&M)

Oregon Women Stage 1 Road Race
*10. Jade Wilcoxson (Now & Novartis for MS) @:44 *Top Oregon finisher
23. Elizabeth Newell (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @1:58
29. Sue Butler (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @4:07
32. Ashley Koch (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @4:07
42. Hilary Billington (Now & Novartis for MS) @4:07
63. Anona Whitely (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @13:37
68. Sarah Maguire (Team Kenda/Geargrinder) @16:37
70. Brenna Lopez-Otero (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @17:05
75. Lindsay Fox (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @17:07
82. Amy Campbell (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @18:51
84. Anne Usher (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @19:06
97. Kelly Benjamin (Colavita Forno d’Asolo) @31:59 TIME CUT

Related Posts

Share This