Grajales, Buchanan win Cascade stage 3

Jul 22, 2011 by

Team Exergy's Andres Diaz was off the front up the final climb Friday during stage 3 of the Cascade Cycling Classic in Bend. ©Emiliano Jordan/Oregon Cycling Action.

BEND — continued its dominance of the 2011 Cascade Cycling Classic Friday, keeping the field in check during an attack-laden stage and sending Cesar Grajales away on the final climb to take the win in front of Bissell Pro Cycling’s Chris Baldwin. Race leader Francisco Mancebo, meanwhile, grabbed the third spot three seconds later after setting up his teammate for the win.

The men's field heads toward Mt. Bachelor near the end of stage 3 Friday. ©David Haines /

The Cascade Lakes Road Race course immediately begins climbing out of Bend straight toward Mt. Bachelor and the first KOM just 15 miles into the race. Two miles later the race veers south, descends into the Deschutes National Forest and begins a large loop around the mountain before finishing at the Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort for a 84-mile jaunt. The women started at Wanoga Snow Park rather than Summit High school, dropping their total mileage for the day to 71.

A flurry of attacks animated the men’s race, splitting the field into three by the time the peloton passed the KOM, but the all-day aggression didn’t pay off for any of the agitators, as Realcyclist and other teams patrolled the front of the race and kept any breakaway attempts on a short leash. It took until the closing third of the race before a two-man breakaway of Max Durtschi (Chipotle Development Team) and Andres Diaz (Team Exergy) was able to gain any significant time on the field, eventually building a lead of nearly a minute by the time they hit the hot spot sprint just 10 miles from the finish. Durtschi collected the top sprint points but was immediately dispatched afterward by Diaz, who soldiered on alone to the final climb.

That’s where Mancebo went to the front of the field and nailed it, peeling off large numbers of riders and allowing his teammate Grajales to ride wheels in the remaining lead group, which also included Bissell’s Vennell, third on GC, and Chris Baldwin, who came into the day sitting 8th, 1:28 behind the race leader Mancebo. Grajales waited while Mancebo inflicted some damage before launching his own attack in the closing kilometers. Baldwin was the only rider who could match Grajales’ pace, but the Bissell rider was unable to come around him at the line, finishing one second behind. Mancebo came in next two seconds in arrears, followed by Vennell with the same time. Chipotle Development Team’s Lachlan Morton finished next, solidifying his fifth-place overall spot and the Best Young Rider jersey.

The top steps of the general classification remain mostly unchanged, with Mancebo leading Grajales by 40 seconds, Vennell by 54 and Tom Zirbel (Jamis Sutter Home) by 1:14. Baldwin now sits 6th, 1:24 down. Oregon’s top rider, Ian Boswell (Trek-Livestrong) finished 19 seconds back for 17th place on the stage and 13th overall at 2:17 down.

Alison Shanks (from Left), stage winner Rushlee Buchanan and third-place rider Tara Whitten share the podium Friday. ©Pat Malach

Buchanan Scores, Hughes Holds Overall Lead

Attacks were the order of the day in the women’s race as well, as Colavita/Forno d’Asolo and Tibco-To the Top tried to unseat Clara Hughes (Cycling BC) from the race lead. But it was a breakaway of about a dozen riders that animated much of the women’s race, making it all the way to the bottom of the final climb to the Mt. Bachelor Ski Area, where a group of four, including Rushlee Buchanan (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo), Alison Shanks (Bike New Zealand), Tara Whitten (Tibco-To the Top) and Jade Wilcoxson, escaped and set off on their own. Whitten was the best placed of the breakaway riders, coming into the stage sitting sixth, 1:31 behind Hughes.

But it was Buchanan who got the advantage on the stage, jumping away from her lead group companions in the final kilometers and building an eight-second lead over runner-up Shanks by the line. Whitten came in next, 10 seconds down, followed by Wilcoxson another 19 seconds after the winner.

Hughes came in 13th and preserved her 13-second overall lead in front of Tibco’s Erinne Willock. Panut Butter & Co’s Kristin McGrath and Kristin Armstrong are in third and fourth, respectively, 19 and 20 seconds back. Jade Wilcoxson’s fourth place preserves her ninth-place position overall as the top Oregon rider.

Cascade Cycling Classic
Stage 3 Cascade Lakes Road Race

Pro Men 84.2 miles
1. Cesar Grajales ( 3:04.21
2. Chris Baldwin (Bissell Pro Cycling Team) @:01
3. Francisco Mancebo ( @:03
4. Jeremy Vennell (Bissell Pro Cycling Team) s.t.
5. Lachlan Morton (Chipotle Development Team) s.t.

1. Francisco Mancebo ( 6:22:59
2. Cesar Grajales ( @:40
3. Jeremy Vennell (Bissell Pro Cycling Team) @:54
4. Tom Zirbel (Jamis Sutter Home) @1:14
5. Lachlan Morton (Chipotle Development Team) @1:22

Pro Women 71 miles
1. Ruchlee Buchanan (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo) 4:14:37
2. Alison Shanks (Bike New Zealand) @:08
3. Tara Whitten (Tibco-To the Top) @:10
*4. Jade Wilcoxson (Now and Novartis for MS) @:29 *Top Oregon finisher
5. Kristin McGRath (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) @:45

1. Clara Hughes (Cycling BC) 8:17:42
2. Erinne Willock (Tibco-To the Top) @:13
3. Kristin McGrath (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) @:19
4. Kristin Armstrong (Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty-12) @:20
5. Tara Whitten (Tibco-To the Top) @:20

Oregon Men Stage 2 Time Trial
*17. Ian Boswell (Trek-Livestrong) @:19 *Top Oregon rider
30. Ryan Trebon (LTS/Felt) @:35
43. Scott Gray (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @1:04
47. Carson Miller (jelly Belly) @1:04
63. Stephen Mull (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @1:04
90. Andrew Boone (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @2:05
92. Kennett Peterson (Hagens Berman) @2:05
130. Josh Berry ( @4:07
DNF Jacob Rathe (Chipotle Development Team)

151. Eli Romer (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing) @4:31

Oregon Women Stage 2 Time Trial
25. Ashley Koch (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @1:52
33. Elizabeth Newell (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @2:15
42. Sue Butler (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @2:22
57. Anona Whitely (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @3:24
61. Anne Usher (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @3:38
68. Lindsay Fox (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @4:55
71. Hilary Billington (Now & Novartis for MS) @5:19
81. Brenna Lopez-Otero (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care) @6:46

92. Sarah Maguire (Team Kenda/Geargrinder) @9:49 TIME CUT
DNS Amy Campbell (Bend Memorial Clinic Total Care)

The men sprint for the first KOM of the day, just 15 miles into the race. ©David Haines /

Related Posts

Share This