Butler, Nicoletti close out Tabor series

Jul 14, 2011 by

Sam Nicoletti won the final Mt. Tabor race and took the Senior men's overall crown. ┬ęPat Malach/FILE PHOTO

PORTLAND — Sue Butler (River City Bicycles) finally got away and made it stick to take her third win of the 2011 Mt. Tabor Series on the last of the six Wednesday night races. In the Senior men’s race, Sam Nicoletti (Gentle Lovers) took the final win and secured the overall series victory as well.

The last race of the series was worth double points and no doubt stirred up the final overall standings, which are based on the best five of six races. Officials series results will be available Thursday night or Friday morning.

Lindsay Fox (Athletes Lounge) won the field sprint for second in the women’s race. Ironclad Performance Wear’s Anna Christiansen finished third.

Nicoletti took his win in front of Bridgetown Velo’s David Sherman and Veloce Racing’s Michael Palmer.

Wednesday’s race also featured a special appearance by former OBRA standout and pro cyclist Doug Ollerenshaw, who rode the race in an Ironclad jersey, sitting in the bunch for 17th place.

Ollerenshaw, now living in Atlanta, turned pro in 2004 after winning the 2003 National Collegiate Rode Race championship for the Oregon State University club team. He rode professionally for Jelly Belly, HealthNet/Maxxis and finished up with Rock Racing in 2008. He retired from the pro ranks in 2009 to focus on his studies.

In Wednesday’s Fixed-gear race, Team Slow’s Ed Groth beat Kevin Phomma (Trusty Switchblade) and Justin Drawbert (Portobello Bicycle Racing) for the win.

Mt. tabor Series #6
July 13

Senior Men
1. Sam Nicoletti (Gentle Lovers)
2. David Sherman (Bridgetown Velo)
3. Michael Palmer (Veloce Racing)
4. Patrick Marzullo
5. Brendan Treacy (Team Oregon/Laurelwood Brewing)

Senior Women
1. Sue Butler (River City Bicycles)
2. Lindsay Fox (Athletes Lounge)
3. Anna Christiansen (Ironclad Performance Wear)
4. Anna Vaughn (Hammer Velo)
5. Alexandra Burton (Upper Echelon Fitness Women’s Cycling)

Fixed Gear
1. Edward Groth (Team Slow)
2. Kevin Phomma (Trusty Switchblade)
3. Justin Drawbert (Portobello Bicycle Racing)
4. Thomas Mitchell
5. David Bisers (Tensegrity PT Cycling)

Complete OBRA results are HERE.

Related Posts

Share This